Elgin County hosts multi-agency training exercise

On December 14, 2022, Elgin County hosted a multi-agency emergency management exercise involving a fictitious cyber attack and a presentation from industry expert Dave Colvin which detailed the changing landscape of emergency management in Ontario. The event included more than 85 participants from local municipalities and other agencies and provided staff from the County of Elgin, Town of Aylmer, Municipality of Bayham, Municipality of Dutton Dunwich, Township of Southwold, Township of Malahide, and the Municipality of West Elgin with a critical opportunity to review and practice their respective Emergency Management Plans with support agencies.

Ed Ketchabaw Elected as Elgin County Warden

Elgin County Council elected Ed Ketchabaw, Mayor of the Municipality of Bayham, as Elgin’s Warden during its inaugural meeting held December 6, 2022. Warden Ketchabaw now serves as the head of Elgin County Council for the 2023 governance year, representing the first year of Council’s four-year term.