(June 5, 2023) – Effective immediately, all open-air and recreational fires are prohibited anywhere in the City of St. Thomas, Town of Aylmer and the Townships and Municipalities within the County of Elgin. Open air fires are defined as any fire outside of a building and include bonfires, campfires, burn barrels, outdoor fireplaces/chimineas or any other fires set in open air.

Although there is some variation across Elgin County, dry conditions are consistent throughout. This fire ban is being imposed due to the extreme dryness of vegetation in the area and shall remain in effect until further notice.

If you discover an open-air fire, it is very important that you report fires immediately to 9-1-1. Do not delay reporting while attempting to control or extinguish the fire.

All burn permits in these municipalities are now suspended. No burn permits will be issued until the ban is lifted.

For any questions or possible exemptions within your municipality please check their appropriate website, social media, or contact the Municipality and/or fire department having jurisdiction.

Municipality of Bayham 519-866-5521
Township of Malahide 519-773-5344
Town of Aylmer 519-773-3164
Municipality of Central Elgin 519-631-4860
City of St. Thomas 519-631-0210
Township of Southwold
Municipality of Dutton-Dunwich 519 762-2204
Municipality of West Elgin

Victoria Day Closure 2024
Easter Holiday Closure Notice
Family Day Closure Notice
Graphic to indicate holiday closures at Elgin County Facilities. The Elgin County Administration Building, Provincial Offences Administration Building, and Elgin County Heritage Centre will be closed on Friday, December 23rd at noon. Regular business hours will resume on Tuesday, January 2nd, 2024.