2018 Plowing Match Scholarship Awarded

The County of Elgin is pleased to announce that Abbey Taylor and Alex Oswell are the recipients of the $2,500 International Plowing Match (IPM) legacy scholarships for 2018.

The program was launched by a committee formed by Council, staff and members of the 2010 Elgin IPM to award two County students with a $2,500 grant each to assist them in their agriculturally-related studies in college or university.

“I am pleased to present these scholarships to two talented and driven recipients who are the future of agriculture in our community” said Warden David Marr. “The scholarship is a great legacy of the IPM that honours Elgin’s agricultural roots and ensures continued investment in the development of local leaders.”

Recipients were selected by a review committee of Warden Marr, 2010 IPM Chairperson Duncan McPhail and the County’s Director of Community and Cultural Services, Brian Masschaele.

To be successful, applicants must be enrolled and returning to post-secondary education in an agriculturally-related discipline, actively involved in serving the County’s agricultural community and they must share their innovative ideas to further develop the County’s strong agricultural industry.

Abbey Taylor is a student in the Associate Diploma in Agriculture at the University of Guelph, Ridgetown campus, and has plans to pursue a career as a primary producer on her family’s farm or a career in agribusiness. Alex Oswell is attending the Ontario Veterinary College at the University of Guelph with plans to pursue a career as a large animal veterinarian.  

Elgin County Council wishes both recipients the best in their future endeavours and encourages the increased participation of youth in agriculturally-related disciplines.